Skip navigation

Houston stations earn 29 Suncoast Emmys; KHOU snags 13

Houston Chronicle
December 12, 2001


KHOU has won 13 statuettes to lead all stations competing at this year's Suncoast Emmy Awards. Houston stations and production houses carted home 29 Emmys in all, a local record.

KHOU surpassed the 11 wins of Miami station WFOR. The Suncoast Emmy region includes southeast Texas, southern Louisiana, southern Alabama and all of Florida.

KTRK was Houston's second-most-awarded station, winning five Emmys. KPRC and KRIV tied with three wins each. KUHT won two. Three production houses each won an Emmy, including Extreme Corporate Communications in Kingwood, Studio W and Active Imagination, Inc.

Each of Houston's top four stations won an Emmy for investigative reporting. Winners in this category included Robert Arnold for KPRC; David Raziq for KHOU; Wayne Dolcefino, Steve Bivens and Rob McJannet for KTRK; and Randy Wallace, Jocelyn Lane and Jim Dunham for KRIV.

KPRC's coverage of Tropical Storm Allison won the Emmy for news event coverage.

Multiple Emmy winners included KHOU's Carolyn Mungo (four awards), Derek Davis (four) and Dan Lauck (three); KTRK's Art Rascon (three); KRIV's Randy Wallace (three); and KUHT's Julie M. Coan (two). Beryt K. Nisenson of Active Imagination, Inc., won two Emmys, including one shared by KHOU.

A total of 92 awards were presented at ceremonies held Dec. 1 in Miami.